Home  |  Products  |  Downloads  |  Registration  |  Forums  |  Support  |  Database  |  My Profiler  |  T-Shirt Contest
Forums

The InterVocative forums are now closed to new postings.

Please visit the Invelos forums at www.invelos.com for DVD Profiler and related discussion.

These forums will remain available for reading indefinitely.

IVS Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
having problems with subwoofer (Locked)
Author Message
Gregory99
Registered: January 8, 2006
Posts: 9
Posted:
i have a JVC receiver with 5 bose speakers and a giant subwoofer.  I don't know much about this stuff but I am pretty sure that the subwoofer is not putting out to it's full capacity.  When I play a movie in it, i can hear it and feel it working but it's not a big booming noise.  I have my subwoofer level turned up to +10 on the receiver.

When I play music on it it's almost not even there.  When i place my hand in the little hole on it, i can feel a slight vibration from the music all together but no bass whatsoever.

I am 99% sure I have everything else hooked up correctly.  Can any of you help me out or point me in the right direction?
JAFO
DVD Addict
Registered: October 14, 2002
Posts: 918
Posted:
Email this userView this user's DVD collection
Does your subwoofer also have a way to change it's power?  My JBL does.  I have it set to about 80% or so.
JAFO

Track your computer's uptime statistics.
Use my jafoClient Windows client!

"Welcome to the party pal." - John McClane, Die Hard
"Grab your ankles and kiss your ass goodbye JAFO. We're going down." - Frank Murphy, Blue Thunder
davidperez
Registered: October 1, 2004
Posts: 200
Posted:
There is something definitely wrong, If im not mistaken the subwoofer level onb your receiver should never need to be turned up to 10. I have mine at +.05. You might want to look at your settings, is the received set to the correct setting like Dolby Digital or something similar. Maybe its only set to stereo or something like that. Also how is your subwoofer connected, did you use RCA cables out of your receivers subwoofer out put or did you use speaker wires and hooked it up inline with your left or rght speaker. Please give us some more info.
Voltaire53
You drive, I'll shoot
Registered: June 8, 2005
Posts: 3,456
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collection
This may sound really stupid but your Sub is switched on isn't it?

I mean you're not just getting the normal 'passive' speaker output instead of the boosted signal the sub-woofer will supply when you switch on its internal amplifier?
"No snowflake in an avalanche ever feels responsible"
Najemikon
Member
Registered: December 28, 2000
Posts: 1,866
Posted:
Email this userView this user's DVD collection
Is the connection for the cable via two wires (+ / -) into clamps rather than a single connector? If so, they're easy to get wrong & the sub will be out of phase.
Jon

"You ever see a cat return a stick? Hey man, you threw the stick, you go get it yourself, I'm busy. If you wanted the stick so bad, why'd you throw it away in the first place?"
C.M.O.T
 Last edited: by Najemikon
Gregory99
Registered: January 8, 2006
Posts: 9
Posted:
Quoting davidperez:
Quote:
There is something definitely wrong, If im not mistaken the subwoofer level onb your receiver should never need to be turned up to 10. I have mine at +.05. You might want to look at your settings, is the received set to the correct setting like Dolby Digital or something similar. Maybe its only set to stereo or something like that. Also how is your subwoofer connected, did you use RCA cables out of your receivers subwoofer out put or did you use speaker wires and hooked it up inline with your left or rght speaker. Please give us some more info.


I dinked around with the different stereo settings and what not for about 2 hours on the receiver so I don't think that's the problem.  My sub connects through my speakers.  The front 3 speakers plug into the sub, then from the sub another set of wires for each speaker goes to the receiver.  That makes 6 total ( - / + ) connections.  I never saw an on/off switch or any other output/input on the sub.  I've double checked to make sure I have all my wires lined up properly and everything seems ok.  Evidence of this would be that the speakers are working fine and they're running through the sub.
MtnMike
Mark it zero!
Registered: March 16, 2002
Posts: 828
Posted:
Email this userView this user's DVD collection
Another thought....I don't know about your particular receiver but on my Denon I need to have "told" the receiver that I DO have a dedicated sub in my system (same as for a dedicated center speaker).  If I had set up my sytem stating that I didn't have one, the LFE is not going to get output to the sub - instead the low frequencies would just get passed along to the mains.
MtnMike
Gregory99
Registered: January 8, 2006
Posts: 9
Posted:
Quoting MtnMike:
Quote:
Another thought....I don't know about your particular receiver but on my Denon I need to have "told" the receiver that I DO have a dedicated sub in my system (same as for a dedicated center speaker).  If I had set up my sytem stating that I didn't have one, the LFE is not going to get output to the sub - instead the low frequencies would just get passed along to the mains.


I checked.  There was a setting that let you choose whether or not the subwoofer was on (YES or NO) and I chose YES.
Dan W
DVD_Mad_Man
Registered: May 9, 2002
Posts: 4,669
Posted:
View this user's DVD collection
What is the source DVD or Music you are using? Give specific title and artist please.
Dan W

Have a question for the forum and not sure what to do?
Click Here!
Gregory99
Registered: January 8, 2006
Posts: 9
Posted:
I tried Terminator 2 and End of Days for DVD

the cd i tried was Notorious BIG - ready to die
FUBAR
What happens when you:
Registered: March 21, 2003
Posts: 340
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collection
To: Gregory

If this sub is the Bose Acoustimass (I think that's how you spell it), it has an automatic on/off feature.  And if you are looking at the front of it, towards the back and to the lower right, there are two dials (LFE and bass), adjust these.  Also, I don't think you mentioned an electrical connection.  The sub is to be connected to power by an electrical cord that would have been packaged separately.
1) have nothing to do  2) own a sharp knife  3) have a large lime
4) own a patient cat  5) drink too much tequila  6) and it's football season?
 Last edited: by FUBAR
MtnMike
Mark it zero!
Registered: March 16, 2002
Posts: 828
Posted:
Email this userView this user's DVD collection
Also check: Does your sub have a crossover setting adjustment? It could be set at such a low frequency that hardly anything gets passed to it. Also check if your receiver has a menu option for a crossover frequency. lI'm also assuming that this sub is a powered one (not passive) and that it's powering up.

Also, rather than testing by playing source material, see if your receiver has a test tone option that you can run while trouble-shooting.  If all else fails, you could just take the sub back to the store and have them hook it up there and see if it works in the store or if its actually in need of repair.
MtnMike
Gregory99
Registered: January 8, 2006
Posts: 9
Posted:
I don't see any on / off switches on the sub nor do i see a plug-in or output or whatever for power.  also, no knobs or dials.

there are 3 inputs for ( + / - ) and 3 outputs for ( + / - ).  This is because the speakers connect to the receiver through the subs.

i do have a crossover frequency option to modify.  what should it be set to?
Dan W
DVD_Mad_Man
Registered: May 9, 2002
Posts: 4,669
Posted:
View this user's DVD collection
Quoting Gregory99:
Quote:
I don't see any on / off switches on the sub nor do i see a plug-in or output or whatever for power.  also, no knobs or dials.

there are 3 inputs for ( + / - ) and 3 outputs for ( + / - ).  This is because the speakers connect to the receiver through the subs.

i do have a crossover frequency option to modify.  what should it be set to?

Start at 80Hz and go from there.

It would help if we knew make and model number of the sub. Otherwise you might consider posting pics.
Dan W

Have a question for the forum and not sure what to do?
Click Here!
widescreenforever
Under a Double W
Registered: July 26, 2003
Posts: 2,131
Posted:
Email this userView this user's DVD collection
you could always try the store you bought it from,, unplug and carry down and plug in.., could be a bad sub., or just badly wired.

is there a model number for this JVC sub ??
Terry
FUBAR
What happens when you:
Registered: March 21, 2003
Posts: 340
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collection
To: Gregory

What happened?
1) have nothing to do  2) own a sharp knife  3) have a large lime
4) own a patient cat  5) drink too much tequila  6) and it's football season?
IVS Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1 2  Previous   Next