Home  |  Products  |  Downloads  |  Registration  |  Forums  |  Support  |  Database  |  My Profiler  |  T-Shirt Contest
Forums

The InterVocative forums are now closed to new postings.

Please visit the Invelos forums at www.invelos.com for DVD Profiler and related discussion.

These forums will remain available for reading indefinitely.

IVS Forums->DVD Profiler: Feature Requests Page: 1  Previous   Next
Barcode Reader using Webcam (Locked)
Author Message
mattmuir
Junior Member
Registered: February 11, 2001
Posts: 8
Posted:
View this user's DVD collection
Hi.

I'd like to see an enhancement which allows the user to hold up the barcode of the item in front of a webcam, and the software reads the barcode from that.  An example of an OCX that does this is available at:

http://downloads.zdnet.com/download.aspx?&kw=barcode+reader&docid=217731

What do you think.... use the poll...
ya_shin
First think, then talk.
Registered: May 29, 2000
Posts: 6,245
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collection
I tried using the webcam as a barcode reader....

It works, but I remember it being rather tricky setting the focus and holding the cover properly in front of the lens.

An actual barcode reader is better.

As the license fee for professional software is probably rather hefty, I won't hold my breath for this becoming a feature.
Achim's Last Watched DVDs
RHo
Registered: April 26, 2003
Posts: 1,856
Posted:
I do like my CueCat and have no need for a Webcam, certainly not as a barcode scanner.

But I think it would be a good idea as a third party plug-in for the yet to be published plug-in specification. It could also be implemented as a third party tool communicating with profiler through windows messages, or keyboard queue, or simply the clipboard.
MarkEJHarrison
Out of ideas
Registered: December 20, 2001
Posts: 2,506
Posted:
Email this userView this user's DVD collection
I played with a CueCat for a while, but I found it to be useless.  In the time it took me to get it to actually scan, I could have typed in three different barcode manually.  I've never understood the attraction.  It's not like it takes that long to type 10 digits.
"the main database is protected by many fanatics who argue minutia over the rules hour after hour, day after day, year after year" - Cliff
RHo
Registered: April 26, 2003
Posts: 1,856
Posted:
Quoting MarkEJHarrison:
Quote:
I played with a CueCat for a while, but I found it to be useless.  In the time it took me to get it to actually scan, I could have typed in three different barcode manually. [...]

Why did it take you so long to scan a barcode with cuecat? Did you use the "scan" plug-in? I do scan the barcode directly into the UPC field without using the plug-in and would never be able to type it that fast. This way the complete barcode is scanned into the field. But if the DVD is already in the database, the stripped UPC is found without any problems. I only have to manually strip the appropriate digit(s) when adding a new profile or when the DVD is mistakenly in the database with the long UPC.
MarkEJHarrison
Out of ideas
Registered: December 20, 2001
Posts: 2,506
Posted:
Email this userView this user's DVD collection
Quoting RHo:
Quote:
Why did it take you so long to scan a barcode with cuecat? Did you use the "scan" plug-in?


I couldn't ever seem to get it to scan.  I was probably holding the scanner wrong or something, but I had to scan it repeatedly for it to even recognize the bar code.  I don't know if it was user error or a flaky scanner, but I gave up.

It might have been nice when entering the collection for the first time (though I only had about 30 discs to enter when I bought the program).  At this point, I'm quite happy to do it manually.  I don't typically buy enough at any one time to have it be an issue.  I don't mind the manual process.  I enjoy entering new movies.
"the main database is protected by many fanatics who argue minutia over the rules hour after hour, day after day, year after year" - Cliff
djdjohnson
Registered: August 27, 2004
Posts: 4
Posted:
Visit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collection
Pick up a used barcode scanner on eBay... I have purchased about 5 of them for around $30 each.  Just make sure they interface via the PS/2 keyboard connection.
mithirandir
A DVD Wizard
Registered: May 26, 2003
Posts: 3,329
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collection
I use a Metrologic Voyager Barcode Scanner connected  via the PS/2 keyboard and I'm very happy with that. 

Quoting RHo:
Quote:
But I think it would be a good idea as a third party plug-in for the yet to be published plug-in specification.


You're kidding.
I'm waiting for years for the Profiler SDK and I don't expect it to be ever published. 
Best regards,

Mithirandir

http://www.dvd-live.de

Download Mithirandir's Skin v1.53  from
here!

Description / ReadMe's on Page 66!
RHo
Registered: April 26, 2003
Posts: 1,856
Posted:
Quoting mithirandir:
Quote:
Quoting RHo:
Quote:
But I think it would be a good idea as a third party plug-in for the yet to be published plug-in specification.

You're kidding.

Kind of!
But I honestly believe that the chances to get the plug-in specification published are not smaller than to get a web cam scanner plug-in programmed by IVS.
 Last edited: by RHo
mithirandir
A DVD Wizard
Registered: May 26, 2003
Posts: 3,329
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collection
That maybe.
I personally give both no chance but let's see.. 
Best regards,

Mithirandir

http://www.dvd-live.de

Download Mithirandir's Skin v1.53  from
here!

Description / ReadMe's on Page 66!
SirhcNavillus
Registered: December 9, 2006
Posts: 3
Posted:
intresting idea but iw ill stick witha a barcode scanner or inputing the 10 dig code
IVS Forums->DVD Profiler: Feature Requests Page: 1  Previous   Next