Home  |  Products  |  Downloads  |  Registration  |  Forums  |  Support  |  Database  |  My Profiler  |  T-Shirt Contest
Forums

The InterVocative forums are now closed to new postings.

Please visit the Invelos forums at www.invelos.com for DVD Profiler and related discussion.

These forums will remain available for reading indefinitely.

IVS Forums->DVD Profiler: Feature Requests Page: 1  Previous   Next
Linking movies - as a series (Locked)
Author Message
jdwall179
Registered: July 2, 2006
Posts: 52
Posted:
Email this userView this user's DVD collection
Is there a way to link movies.  I have all the old "Thin Man" movies and others that I consider series.  Is there a way to link them together as a series?
Touti
Registered: January 18, 2001
Posts: 1,616
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepage
You can create a boxset and add the movies to it as children.
DVD Collectors Online
WetRon
Moin-Moin
Registered: August 29, 2002
Posts: 859
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepage
you could manually create a porfile (something loacl and never upload it).  Set this profile up the way you like it whith any type of cover art images. 
Then link all of the movie profiles as box set discs.

I do this myself for some thing.  Problem is if any of the stuff to link is already a box set, then you are screwed......

Hope that this helps
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it."
jfossy
Registered: April 26, 2003
Posts: 5
Posted:
View this user's DVD collection
If all you care about is how it looks sorted, you can change the sort title.

I do this with the Star Trek episode DVD's.  For the original series, I change the Sort Title to:

Star Trek Series 1 1
Star Trek Series 1 2
Star Trek Series 1 3

Next Generation (leave room for the animated series if I decide to get to it)

Star Trek Series 2 1
Star Trek Series 2 2
Star Trek Series 2 3
etc.

When I print out the list, they will then be in the order I want them in.

Hope this helps.
nolesrule
B5 nut
Registered: September 21, 2000
Posts: 569
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collection
Or you could just use tags. Doesn't have the same affect as setting up a faux box set, but it works.
nolesrule
My DVD Collection
Rifter
Freedom is not free!
Registered: January 27, 2002
Posts: 3,169
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collection
Quoting jdwall179:
Quote:
Is there a way to link movies.  I have all the old "Thin Man" movies and others that I consider series.  Is there a way to link them together as a series?


There is already an official 'Thin Man' collection with all the movies in it commercially available, so that may cause problems if you try to create your own box set locally.

Tags are probably your best bet, and you don't have to worry about uploading something by mistake.
John

"Extremism in the defense of Liberty is no vice!"  Senator Barry Goldwater, 1964.

My Blog: Mad Gorilla's Jungle
BORGON
Junior Member
Registered: April 21, 2000
Posts: 9
Posted:
Email this user
Quoting WetRon:
Quote:
you could manually create a porfile (something loacl and never upload it).  Set this profile up the way you like it whith any type of cover art images. 
Then link all of the movie profiles as box set discs.

I do this myself for some thing.  Problem is if any of the stuff to link is already a box set, then you are screwed......

Hope that this helps


Silly question, how does one set up a faux box set?  I try to do it but keep running into UPC problems when attempting it.  Is there a solution that I've missed somewhere?
I want some more
hal9g
DVD Nut
Registered: April 1, 2002
Posts: 4,650
Posted:
Email this userView this user's DVD collection
All you have to do is go to "DVD>Add to Collection>Add By Title" and uncheck the box at the lower left of the screen that says "Download  profile from IVS".

Then type in the title of the "faux" boxset, fill in the "Personalize Screen" (if you have selected to display it here) and click on "Add Now".

You now have a blank "Manual" profile that you can populate in any way that you like and add any other profiles to as Boxset Contents.

Contrary to Rifter's statement above, this will not create ANY problem with a pre-existing Thin Man Boxset that is available commercially, UNLESS you also purchase that (which I cannot imagine why you would if you already own all of the movies) AND try to add all of the movies to that Boxset also.  Profiles can only be part of one Boxset.

There is also no worry about contributing this profile either, since DVDP will not allow you to contribute a "manual" profile.
Hal

My DVD Collection
WetRon
Moin-Moin
Registered: August 29, 2002
Posts: 859
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepage
Quoting BORGON:
Quote:
Silly question, how does one set up a faux box set?  I try to do it but keep running into UPC problems when attempting it.  Is there a solution that I've missed somewhere?


what hal said ;-)
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it."
BORGON
Junior Member
Registered: April 21, 2000
Posts: 9
Posted:
Email this user
Thanks, I've been a dvdprofiler user for years now and Never figured that one out lol...guess I should read directions better 

Quick Question, since I seem to be naive in these matters. 
Is it possible to set up a report that when you print the report will print the box set title but then indent the discs in the box set?

I know you can select in options to include box sets but it doesn't indent them or really group them properly, unless you set them to sort in the personalized field.

If that doesn't exist it would be a sweet feature to add to reports. 

The reason for my sudden focus on this matter is I'm reboxing my collection to thinpaks and making new 'box sets' where it's logical to do so (I.E. the Alien movies, or the Hope and Crosby Road Movies, etc) and I like to keep a print out of my collection near my cabinets to simplify looking for titles.  I finally hit the point where I either A) had to rebox to conserve space B) Move to a larger home C) sell or donate unwanted DVD's (okay I have like 6 in my collection I regret from when I started collecting back in 1997 when there were only a couple hundred titles...ack I'm rambling.

Another Alternative to this would be to keep an alphabetical listing but be able to append to the title what box set it's in.  If there's a way to get the report to do either of these things It's eluding me....

Thanks in advance for any help.
I want some more
 Last edited: by BORGON
antolod
Saggin in the 60's
Registered: December 2, 2003
Posts: 498
Posted:
View this user's DVD collection
Borgon, you can use the location and slot fields under the personalize menu (disc tab) to give your "box sets" a name and location that can be shown on reports.
IVS Forums->DVD Profiler: Feature Requests Page: 1  Previous   Next