Home  |  Products  |  Downloads  |  Registration  |  Forums  |  Support  |  Database  |  My Profiler  |  T-Shirt Contest
Forums

The InterVocative forums are now closed to new postings.

Please visit the Invelos forums at www.invelos.com for DVD Profiler and related discussion.

These forums will remain available for reading indefinitely.

IVS Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1  Previous   Next
DVD Changer (Locked)
Author Message
davidperez
Registered: October 1, 2004
Posts: 200
Posted:
Hey folks, just wondering if any one have any idea of any products that would hold my 500 or so dvds. I was hoping to find something like an 800 disc changer or two changers that I can combine and be able to just browse through the dvds via remote and pick one. I have seen the Sony one that holds 400, but my worry is that It wont show a list of all DVDs while browsing though it and I would have go in and input all the info like I did on my sony cd changer?
ajm
dvd-aholic
Registered: November 16, 2000
Posts: 3,544
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collection
I have 3 sony ones. 2 * 300 and 1 * 200. They stopped doing them in the UK so they are retired now. The browser it has works well for Sony dvd's which all have 'jacket pictures'. However, it just reads the title from the label otherwise. Apparently the Pioneer one has a serial port. Now if anything can use it, I've no idea.

I used my philips pronto pro to manage my collection when I used the sony changers. Was easier than using the sony browser, which was so slow, you could have walked down blockbuster and picked up a dvd instead.
davidperez
Registered: October 1, 2004
Posts: 200
Posted:
Thanks for the idea, so does the Pronto hold images of all your collection?
hal9g
DVD Nut
Registered: April 1, 2002
Posts: 4,650
Posted:
Email this userView this user's DVD collection
Quoting davidperez:
Quote:
Thanks for the idea, so does the Pronto hold images of all your collection?


The "Pronto" is just a universal remote.
Hal

My DVD Collection
pdf256
I needed a new face
Registered: July 10, 2000
Posts: 1,124
Posted:
Quoting hal9g:
Quote:
Quoting davidperez:
Quote:
Thanks for the idea, so does the Pronto hold images of all your collection?


The "Pronto" is just a universal remote.

Are you out of your mind? just a universal remote?

No, No, No ... the Pronto is a remote that is programmed using a editor on your PC that has a touch-screen LCD display.

With list prices as high as $1300, it is far more than "just a universal remote"!

pdf
Paul Francis in San Juan Capistrano, CA, USA
ajm
dvd-aholic
Registered: November 16, 2000
Posts: 3,544
Posted:
Email this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collection
Yeah, my pronto had colour images of all my dvd's. 9 per page. Pressing that, magically made the correct dvd player switch on, and select the correct dvd.

I did run into a problem. That (at least on the model of pronto pro I had), was that 800 was the limit. As soon as I'd filled my changers (and a few more) it ran out of memory.

The new pronto's have 4 times the memory :D

There is a program that converts the pronto file format into xml. I then wrote a perl script that took my collection.xml and did more magic to recreate the pronto xml, which was the converted back into pronto format. Oh what fun that was.

Personally now, I'd require 6 * 400 disc changers. Controlling/cabling that lot would be a pain. So, I've gone back to using a single disc player.

It's a shame no one really things of us addicts. A nice modular system which just had 1 video/audio output with pc control would be just great
hal9g
DVD Nut
Registered: April 1, 2002
Posts: 4,650
Posted:
Email this userView this user's DVD collection
Quoting pdf256:
Quote:
Quoting hal9g:
Quote:
Quoting davidperez:
Quote:
Thanks for the idea, so does the Pronto hold images of all your collection?


The "Pronto" is just a universal remote.

Are you out of your mind? just a universal remote?

No, No, No ... the Pronto is a remote that is programmed using a editor on your PC that has a touch-screen LCD display.

With list prices as high as $1300, it is far more than "just a universal remote"!

pdf


I have a TS6000.

It's still just a fancy universal remote with a big price tag!
Hal

My DVD Collection
loringcox
Cody is free!
Registered: September 28, 2005
Posts: 1
Posted:
My Harmony 880 did the same exact thing minus cover art. Export your collection using XML, and then import it on the setup page for the Sony changer, then you will have an alphabetical listing of your collection on the remote. All for less than  $200 for the remote.

However now I use Xlobby to control my changer for free.
http://www.xlobby.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3837&sid=e6e2b14eddbf2cfbdc71cb98a9c676cb
davidperez
Registered: October 1, 2004
Posts: 200
Posted:
Thanks, I will look into those programs.
Battling Butler
the painted veil
Registered: January 11, 2005
Posts: 880
Posted:
View this user's DVD collection
Quoting hal9g:
Quote:
Quoting pdf256:
Quote:
Quoting hal9g:
Quote:
Quoting davidperez:
Quote:
Thanks for the idea, so does the Pronto hold images of all your collection?


The "Pronto" is just a universal remote.

Are you out of your mind? just a universal remote?

No, No, No ... the Pronto is a remote that is programmed using a editor on your PC that has a touch-screen LCD display.

With list prices as high as $1300, it is far more than "just a universal remote"!

pdf


I have a TS6000.

It's still just a fancy universal remote with a big price tag!


John: "Listen, I gotta stop by my house. I want to pick up some stuff."
Terminator: "Negative. The T1000 will definitely try to reaquire you there."
John: "You sure?"
Terminator: "I would." 
oktracer
Registered: June 10, 2002
Posts: 1,830
Posted:
Visit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collection
Quoting ajm:
Quote:
It's a shame no one really things of us addicts. A nice modular system which just had 1 video/audio output with pc control would be just great


Have you ever looked into the Microsoft MCE HTPC, I use mine to watch and record TV, DVDs, Music, steaming video off of the internet and more.  You can also connect the Sony VGP-XL1B Media Changer to your MCE HTPC.
Tracy
8ballMax
Haircut my a#$
Registered: July 23, 2001
Posts: 1,396
Posted:
Email this userView this user's DVD collection
Quoting oktracer:
Quote:
Have you ever looked into the Microsoft MCE HTPC, I use mine to watch and record TV, DVDs, Music, steaming video off of the internet and more.  You can also connect the Sony VGP-XL1B Media Changer to your MCE HTPC.


Steaming video?  Must be HOT stuff .
IVS Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1  Previous   Next